CSD Becomes Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

Posted in Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

We are pleased to announce that the Department of Communication Science and Disorders has become the Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences. The long history of the department, and the evolution of its name over time, reflect a deep commitment to teaching, research and clinical service in the areas of speech-language pathology and audiology. The department has one of the oldest continually accredited programs in speech-language pathology in the nation, and offers the only PhD program in speech-language pathology in Missouri. The new name places emphasis on the department’s focus on scientific discovery in the areas of speech, language and hearing, while removing disabling language with the elimination of the word “disorders.”  Department Chair Dr. Stacy Wagovich said “the new name more accurately represents the positive and empowering commitment to evidence-based instruction and clinical practice embraced by the department’s faculty.” The name change is effective October 29, 2018. *Please...

Read more…

Browse News

Department & Programs:
Select department or program...
  • Select department or program...
  • Department: Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences
  • Clinical Laboratory Science
  • Diagnostic Medical Ultrasound
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Radiography
  • Respiratory Therapy
  • Department: Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
  • Department: Health Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Public Health
  • Department: Health Psychology
  • Department: Occupational Therapy
  • Department: Physical Therapy
  • Athletic Training
  • Physical Therapy Program
  • Master of Public Health
  • PhD in Health and Rehabilitation Science
  • UMKC Pharmacy @ Mizzou
  • Office of Student Services
  • Career Services
  • MU Adult Day Connection