Skip to navigation Skip to content

2019 Athletic Training Awards Ceremony Winners

The Athletic Training program hosted its annual banquet and awards ceremony on Monday, April 22. Iowa State Associate Athletic Director for Sports Medicine, Mark Coberley, was the keynote speaker. The following students and faculty received awards:

Oliver J. DeVictor Award – Excellence in Scholastic Achievement: Caroline Bass (Junior).

Dr. James M. Baker Award – Most Industrious and Improved Clinician: Alex Castulik (Junior). Castulik was nominated by Brett Sigley, Athletic Trainer for Mizzou Men’s Baseball. Siley said: “He fully immersed himself into the day to day activities that come with assisting in the healthcare of our baseball athletes. His clinical skills, confidence level, and ability to make decisions autonomously increased exponentially as time went on. The amount of improvement and positive change I have seen in him over the course of our time together is remarkable.”

Dr. Glenn L. McElroy Award – Exceptional Attitude and Leadership: Meg Rogers (Senior). Nominated by fellow AT student Melanie Graves. Graves said: “Meg has a genuine heart for athletic training and this is obvious through her curious nature and willingness to explore concepts of the profession she desires to know more about. As a 2nd year, she has helped me in areas of frustration and/or struggle. She goes above and beyond in all of her endeavors, athletic training or otherwise.”

Fred Wappel Award – Most Outstanding Athletic Training Student: Jake Coffman (Senior). Nominated by Camille Bordelon, Athletic Trainer for Mizzou Gymnastics. Bordelon said: “Jake is a student who loves the profession and gives his all, day in and day out. Over the past year, Jake has impressed me with not only his dedication to his clinical assignment and preceptors, but his dedication to himself as a soon to be professional in the field.”

Rex L. Sharp Rookie of the Year Award – Outstanding First-Year Student Displaying Exceptional Potential in the Field of Athletic Training: Kendyl Boone (Sophomore). Nominated by Patrick Beckmann, Athletic Trainer for Men’s Basketball. Beckmann said: “Kendyl had a great rapport with the players and quickly earned their trust. She is very knowledgeable and displayed excellent skills. She was more mature and better prepared than most first year Athletic Training Students. She used what she was learning in the classroom and was able to apply it in the clinical setting.”

Preceptor of the Year Award: Alison Mosel, Women’s Basketball Athletic Trainer. Nominated by student Melanie Graves. Graves said, “I have learned so much about the profession and life under Alison’s guidance. Alison communicates with us, and has never made us feel that we are there just to help her with water and Gatorade. Alison proves daily how much she cares about the profession and her students.”

Graduation Procession Leader – Michael Nebel. This award, chosen by faculty, is based on who consistently represents the program the best in the following categories: Grades, clinicals, service, involvement, integrity, and leadership.

Congratulations, all!


See more high-res, downloadable photos (including these) from the banquet.