Skip to navigation Skip to content

2017 SHP Awards

The SHP Awards celebrate excellence in teaching, academic achievement, clinical service, research and service to the school and community.  Honorees were nominated by students, faculty, peers, supervisors, and friends outside the school. 

SHP Faculty Engagement Award

Dana Martin, Associate Teaching Professor and Director of Clinical Education

The winner of the SHP Faculty Engagement Award, which honors a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional engagement with and service to the school, their profession, and the community. This year’s recipient is in the department of Physical Therapy. Her nominator wrote, “She is an extraordinary colleague who has extended the classroom in to the clinic, the community and the world to be a better teacher – and demonstrated a breadth of service within the department, the school and the professional organization that is exceptional. And she has taught our students to do the same.

Excellence in Education 

Whitney Henderson, Assistant Clinical Professor, Occupational Therapy

The School of Health Professions recognizes that excellence in teaching not only benefits the learners but also serves as a foundation of a critical SHP mission – to prepare graduates for high-impact careers. The SHP Excellence in Education Award honors faculty members who have demonstrated a superlative commitment to the teaching mission and may recognize efforts spanning a broad range of activities including traditional instruction, advising, mentoring, training and outreach activities.Whitney Henderson, Assistant Clinical Professor, Occupational Therapy

In the Early Career category, we recognize a faculty member who is an alumna of her program. She successfully navigated the transition from clinical practice back to academia, and has, according to her nominator, taught 11 different courses in the curriculum. She helps students understand how to work with a wide range of people, and teaches by example that learning is a lifelong process. She is pursuing a doctoral degree in educational strategies and works diligently with other faculty members at MU and in other programs to bring new ideas into her courses, and to her role as an educator. Her commitment to excellence in education is further evidenced by her contributions to continuing education with AOTA, her mentorship of students conducting research in OT.

Excellence in Education

Dr. Dana Fritz, Associate Clinical Professor, Communication Science and Disorders

The second Excellence In Education Award was awarded to someone whose nominator calls her “an extraordinarily creative educator.” She is a much-loved classroom educator, a tireless mentor to students and colleagues, and a relentless advocate for our programs. In addition to the courses she teaches, she can always be counted on to take on a challenging new course assignment. She has developed two of her department’s signature clinical training programs, both of which are nationally renowned for their excellence and provide unique clinical education opportunities for students.

Excellence in Clinical Service 

Greta Hull, Assistant Clinical Professor, Director of R.G. Combs Language Preschool 

The SHP Excellence in Clinical Service Award honors a faculty member who has demonstrated sustained excellence in school and university clinical service activities, including clinical teaching and direct patient care. These activities reflect the faculty member’s academic and professional expertise and support SHP’s mission; they are outstanding contributions that serve as a model of excellence in clinical service.

This year’s winner not only provides a high volume of clinical services but serves as a clinic director as well. One nominator wrote, “She is simply stellar. Both students and family members of clinic clients consistently go out of their way to tell me how grateful they are for her.” Her clinical supervision includes both graduate and undergraduate clinicians, and her clinic population is among the most vulnerable we serve. She provides the highest quality supervision for our fledgling clinicians and she brings extensive experience to our clinical operations while pioneering innovative clinical delivery programs. 

Inclusive Excellence Award

Ruth Crozier, Director of Student Services 

The SHP Inclusive Excellence Award goes to a faculty or staff person who has made outstanding efforts to enhance the environment of inclusion within our school and our campus. This year’s winner has been actively and consistently engaged in helping SHP make progress toward our goal of enhancing an environment of inclusion. She is a member of the Dean’s Committee on Inclusion and has been a consistent resource to departments seeking to bolster inclusion-related teachings in their programs. She has been instrumental in bringing learning opportunities to SHP and has plans to complete additional training herself to help further expand learning opportunities at SHP. Ruth Crozier in the Office of Student Services, thank you for your efforts to make SHP an inclusive home for all members of the SHP family.

Kristofer & Lori Hagglund Early Career Award

Carla Allen, Associate Clinical Professor and Clinical Education Coordinator, Radiologic Science 

The Kristofer and Lori Hagglund Early Career Award was established by to help support faculty who are balancing the demands of teaching, research, and service, which, as we both know well, is a challenge both for the faculty member and his or her family. The award is selected each year by a special faculty committee and includes a $2500 stipend for a faculty member who has not yet attained the rank of full professor and whose successes in scholarship, teaching or service have significantly advanced the mission of SHP. 

This year’s award goes to a faculty member who clearly demonstrates excellence in teaching, scholarship and in service. In addition to having responsibility for directing the clinical education course sequence for her program and a significant teaching responsibility, this faculty member still pursues scholarly activity and has a growing list of publications to her credit. Her service activities include SHP and campus-wide committees as well as a leadership role in her profession’s state organization. Her nominator wrote “she is the quintessential early career faculty,” who in addition to balancing her responsibilities is also pursuing a doctoral degree. 

See more photos from the awards ceremony.

View all winners